Mad Hatters Afternoon Tea, London, UK.

So if you’re looking for a quirky and unique afternoon tea experience in London I would highly reccomend the Mad Hatters Afternoon Tea at the Sanderson Hotel in London. 

As a big Disney fan and an avid cake lover I knew a surprise Mad Hatters afternoon tea would be the perfect gift for my best friend. Please note I did book quite a few months in advance and I would highly reccomend you do this as its a popular experience and you may not be able to get booked in if you leave it last minute (especially weekends).

Moving on lets get onto the good stuff – the food and drink!

So as we sat down at our vintage style table we were offered a glass of bubbly on the house this was like a bellini and was really nice and added just that little extra touch. We then were able to view a range of tailor-made flavoured teas insprired by the characters of this beloved story.  What I absolutely loved about this experience was just all the small details they went to which really brought the story to life. We were able to smell all the tea’s before selecting and these were set out in little potion bottles with the flavours written out on playing cards. Once selected, our tea’s came back in beautiful ‘Alice in Wonderland’ inspired tea-pots with matching cup and saucer. I believe we chose a jasmine flavoured green tea and it really was lovely. Need a bit of sweetness? Then the sugar cubes are kept in a music box on the table- another small touch that really did set the scene.

Once settled with our drinks the savoury food arrived. A small range of interesting sandwiches (yes one was green!).  A speciality to the experience you have a selection of classic cumcumber, Goat Cheese Croque-Monsieur and White Crab Eclairs. These really did delight all the senses and not having the ‘standard’ afternoon tea options was really refreshing. Although you don’t get a massive portion of sandwiches I felt like it was more than enough before the array of cakes you get afterward. However, they did offer us more sandwiches so if you wanted some more you can, which is great. It’s good to note that this is a unique experience you’re probably going to have flavours and things you haven’t tasted before but this is all part of the quirky experience and something my best friend and I really enjoyed.

The selection of sandwiches.
The selection of sandwiches.

Saving the best until last – OMG the cakes! God where do I start? I loved everything about the cakes and the details they have gone to really do stand out. Each cake has been designed to fit into the ‘Alice in Wonderland’ theme – from red velevet ladybird cake to chocolate-coated, coffee-flavoured Pocket-Watch Macaroons there really is a bit of everything. Even if you don’t like the taste of all of them just seeing the effort that has been made in the details pays for the experience itself.  There was a lot to get through and in the end we actually had to take some home because we just could not finish it!

So I know what you’re thinking this must have cost a bomb? Well, I’m not going to lie it wasn’t cheap but it’s London, its quirky and its a once in a life time experience. So I booked online and I think it was about £48 per person which I didn’t think was too bad. However, I will note that they do add a 15% service charge on at the end which I thought was a bit cheeky and I was not aware beforehand but hey its the capital what do you expect I guess.

Nonetheless, I really do reccomend doing this if you fancy something different to the standard afternoon tea. You really do pay for the experience and The Sanderson has really gone to town on the details bringing an old school Disney film back to life. Re-live your childhood while enjoying fancy food and fine tea? What more could you want?

You can find out more about The Sanderson Mad Hatters Afternoon Tea here.

13620268_10153556548775736_8417797453058497672_n

Leave a Reply

