Today I handed in my notice

It’s probably that one thing most of us dread doing but unfortunately most of us will have to do it at some point in our lives and my hardest one to date was yesterday.

I knew once I booked my travelling adventure I would inevitably have to leave my office job behind- most people would celebrate at the chance of leaving their boring office to travel the world but for me it was a serious mix of emotions.

Of course I was happy I am going to get to see some parts of the world I have dreamed of seeing and won’t be doing the same routine day in day out. However, I was also sad. Sad to leave behind the people I have become close with and sad to leave a company that has given me so much.

I don’t think people realise but we actually spend the majority of our lives, weeks, hours at work and it almost becomes a second nature. Humans love routine and when this regular routine is broken it all just becomes a big whirl which I will be entering into very soon..

There’s also a real mix of excitement and fear when handing in your notice– shit was that the right decision, shit is this actually happening, shit can I do this?

Handing in your notice is never an easy thing (maybe for some people) but for stress head’s and anxiety stricken people like me it’s honestly like running a marathon. The build up to the day was terrible, I felt sick, I couldn’t eat and I couldn’t sleep. It’s stupid when you look back now, like why have I hyped this up to be so bad when it won’t be. Its crazy what our minds can do and how much control they can take over our lives. I had built up this picture that my Manager was going to go ape-shit (like full Godzilla mode) tell me to leave immediately and never come back. But you know what? He was the complete opposite. He genuinely was interested in where I was going on my travels and understood why I wanted to go. Yes of course it was a bit of a shock and they were upset but they understood me.

So my advice if you’re handing in your notice soon to go travelling? Don’t be scared and don’t always judge a book by its cover. Your boss might be a complete asshole when it comes to work but when it comes round to actually handing in your notice a lot of the time they genuinely are fine with it. If your boss isn’t like that then I’m sorry but just remember you’re going to be off around the world soon so they’ll become irrelevant anyway!

I guess what I’m trying to say is try and not over think things. I completely worked myself up for something that I thought was going to be terrible which actually ended up being a really lovely, heartfelt chat with my boss. Don’t build these awful pictures up in your mind about what could happen. Enjoy each day as it comes, don’t over-plan, see where the day will take you and enjoy every second you have on this beautiful earth.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Blossom Bite says:

    This sounds very exciting! All the best for your trip!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hannah says:

      Thank you! It’s all becoming a lot more real now but excited for the future!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

